We are the Kangaroos!

We are the kangaroos!


In recent seasons Heyfield has been a dominant force in the North Gippsland Football League, but it was not always so. The club’s first competitive outings were in the Heyfield District Football Association in 1902. Between then and world war two it competed at various times in several different leagues and associations, but does not appear to have procured a senior grade premiership until 1947 in the Cowwarr Football League. The club’s second senior flag followed ten years later in the Gippsland Football League, but it was only after commencing in the North Gippsland Football League in 1975 that Heyfield would begin to emerge as a consistent force.

The Kangaroos’ first premiership in the NGFL arrived in only their second season in the competition. Opposed in the grand final by Stratford in the grand final, they won with a fair degree of comfort by 38 points, 17.18 (120) to 11.16 (82). Making the win even more noteworthy was the fact that it came as the culmination of an unbeaten season. Heyfield’s next two grand final appearances, in 1985 and 1987, both resulted in defeat at the hands of Nambrok and Cowwarr respectively. The 1988 grand final saw the Kangaroos turning the tables on Cowwarr to the tune of six straight kicks, 11.12 (78) to 5.12 (42). Heyfield reached the premiership deciders of 1989 and 1990 as well, making it five grand final appearances out in six seasons, including four in succession. Both these matches resulted in losses to Gormandale, however.

The past decade has seen Heyfield enjoying the most frequent and sustained spell of success in its history. Between 1997 and 2008 the club’s senior grade team played off in no fewer than eight grand finals, winning six of them. The triumphs came at the expense of Traralgon Tyers United in 1997, Glengarry in 1998, Sale City in 1999, Glengarry once more in 2000, Cowwarr in 2005, and Churchill in 2007. The defeats came in 2003 against Churchill and 2004 at the hands of Traralgon Tyers United.

In addition to their eight senior grade premierships the Kangaroos have won seven reserves and seven thirds grade flags.

source: John Devaney – Full Points Publications



Football coaches 2016:

Seniors – Josh Stubbe
Reserves – Daniel Murphy
Under 18 – Brenton Dinsdale

Netball Coaches

Under 15s: Sarah Schellen
Under 17s: Tracy Grogan
D Grade: Jasmyn Flett
C Grade: Phoebe Escreet
B Grade: Tracy Grogan
A Grade: Sarah Schellen


1976 – Heyfield (Champions) – 17.18.110 def. Stratford 11.16.82


1988 – Heyfield – 11.12.78 def. Cowwarr 5.12.42

1997 – Heyfield – 19.8.122 def. Traralgon Tyers United 6.14.56

1998 – Heyfield – 14.15.99 def. Glengarry 11.13.79

1999 – Heyfield – 12.16.88 def. Sale City 9.7.61

2000 – Heyfield – 15.11.101 def. Glengarry 8.6.54

2005 – Heyfield – 24.10.154 def. Cowwarr 10.9.69

2007 – Heyfield – 11.10.76 def. Churchill 8.11.59

2009 – Heyfield – 15.13.103 def Churchill 10.14.74

2012Heyfield – 14.9.93 def Rosedale 10.15.75